Sargsyan was elected Prime Minister amid opposition protests

the Former President of Armenia Serzh Sargsyan was elected Prime Minister of the country. Reports about it “Sputnik Armenia”.

At a special session of the Armenian National Assembly and 77 members of Parliament voted for the appointment of Sargsyan, 17 voted against it. Only the meeting was attended by 94 deputies, Sargsyan was required to obtain 53 votes for election.

According to the amendments to the Constitution, adopted in December 2015, with 2018 the Prime Minister becomes the de facto head of state. From 2008 to 2018 Sargsyan was the President of Armenia. After him, the position was held by Armen Sargsyan, which, according to the same amendments, receives public functions.

unlike the President who can now hold office for not more than one seven-year term, the Prime Minister can be elected unlimited number of times.